side menu icon
Girl Scouts, staff, volunteers, and community members at a Women of Distinction event

Women of Distinction

At our signature fundraising event, Women of Distinction, we bring together and honor leaders in our community whose professional accomplishments and community contributions inspire us all to make the world a better place.  At Girl Scouts of Central Texas, we work daily to provide a safe, encouraging space for girls to find their voice and develop their leadership potential.  When girls succeed, society does too.  

New award for 2019: The Man Enough to be a Girl Scout award!  
This award is presented to a man who is a champion for girls and women, and who supports the mission of Girl Scouts. This man has shown through his work and community involvement, that he believes in and supports female leadership and empowerment.


Nomination Guidelines for Woman of Distinction, Rising Star, and Man Enough:
  • Please select the application form that best suits your nominee. Attach files for the nominee’s awards or certificates, information garnered from the internet about their accomplishments, newspaper and magazine stories, and letters of recommendation from colleagues, business associates, and friends to strengthen their nomination. 
  • We are not able to accept nominations for those who are currently serving on the GSCTX Board of Directors, or who are employed by Girl Scouts of Central Texas. (We can hold nominations for current board members for consideration when their board term has expired.) GSCTX wants to maintain impartiality and integrity in the selection process.
  • We are not able to accept nominations for individuals running for elected office during their election year cycle. As a non-partisan, non-political organization, GSCTX cannot appear to endorse any political candidate or platform.
2019 Nominations
  • Nominate an individual. 
  • Nominate a Rising Star* (for women leaders 25-40 years of age *only in select areas).
  • NEW! Nominate a Man Enough* (for men who are champions of women *only in select areas).
  • Workplace of Distinction (for areas outside of Austin).

If you are completing a PDF nomination form, remember to save the document to your device prior to completing the nomination form.

Killeen/Waco/Temple event

2019 Event Date: Thursday, May 16, 2019
Killeen Civic and Conference Center
3601 South W.S. Young Drive, Killeen, TX, 76542 
Doors open at 6:00pm | Banquet 6:30pm-8:30pm

Reserve your table or seat here ›

2019 Honorees                  

Michelle DiGaetano
Jennifer Graham
Rita Kelley
Debbie Nash King

Rising Star
Allison Dickson

Man Enough to Be a Girl Scout
Steve Wright

View photos of the 2018 Ceremony here ›

2018 Honorees

Marilyn Krumnow
Beverly Luedke
Joan Manning
Vickie Mitchell

Rising Star
Miranda Lugo

Distinguished Workplace for Women
Workforce Solutions of Central Texas

Former honorees
San Angelo event
2019 Event Date: Thursday, March 7, 2019 
McNease Convention Center
501 Rio Concho Drive, San Angelo, TX 76903 
Doors open at 6:00pm | Banquet 6:30pm-8:30pm

Reserve your table or seat here ›
View photos of the 2018 Ceremony here › 
2019 Honorees

JoAnna Alexander
Gay Box
Angela Brooks
Candis Hicks
Mary Frances Butler Owens

Distinguished Workplace for Women 
Junior League of San Angelo

Former honorees
Austin event
2019 Event Date: Friday, May 3, 2019 
Fairmont Austin
101 Red River St, Austin, TX 78701
Boutique and Check In begins at 9:30am   
Luncheon begins at 11:30am-1:00pm
View photos of the 2019 Luncheon Ceremony here ›
2019 Honorees

Sandy Alcala 
Melissa Fleming
Margaret Jabour
Yvonne Van Dyke

Rising Star 
Virginia Cumberbatch

Man Enough To Be A Girl Scout 
John Paul DeJoria

Former honorees


Special thanks to our wonderful sponsors!


Stephenville/Brownwood event
2019 Event Date: Thursday, 19 September 2019

Coggin Avenue Baptist Church
1715 Coggin Avenue
Brownwood, TX 76801
Time: 11:00am

Reserve your table or ticket today!

2019 Stephenville Honorees

Kevelle Bailey
Sue Tullar Byrd
Betty Beyer Critchfield
Debbie Eoff
Alice Salazar

Dazzling Divas Boutique
Distinguished Workplace for Women

2018 Stephenville Honorees

Barbara Terrell
Metta Collier
JJ Hampton
Sherry Carroll
Shelby Slawson

The N at Hardway Ranch
Distinguished Workplace for Women

2017 Brownwood Honorees

Nancy Byler
Iva Hamilton
Evy Winn
Kay Wilson

Brownwood Public Library
Distinguished Workplace for Women 

View photos from this event
2016 Stephenville Honorees
Julie Crouch
Sena Leese
Lisa Pack
Joanna Shaw
Alisa Terrell Starbird

Boucher, Morgan & Young
Distinguished Workplace for Women
View photos from this event
Former honorees
2016 sponsors
2015 Brownwood Honorees
Jan Fischer
Beverly Norris
Suzanne Prosise
Lisa Ritter
Diane Winn

Brownwood Area Chamber of Commerce
Distinguished Workplace for Women
Former honorees
Bryan/College Station event
Date of event: Thursday, September 12, 2019

Hilton College Station
801 University Drive East
College Station, TX  77840

Doors open at 6:00pm | Banquet 6:30-8:30pm

Reserve your table or seat here!

2019 Honorees

Shawn Andaya-Pulliam
Colleen Holmes
Debra Turner
Peggy Telg
Mary Parish
Natalie Pine, Rising Star
Stylecraft, Workplace of Distinction

View photos of the 2018 event
Former honorees
Thank you to our wonderful sponsors!
Past honorees

2017 Honorees

(See individual events above for honorees in earlier years.)

San Angelo 
Treva Boyd
Irene Meitzen
Carol Santry
Dr. Sharon Kulig
Dr. Leslie Mayrand
Marlene DiLillo
Cynthia Hernandez
Connie Kuehl
Jody Nicholas
Cindy Simerly

Sarah Butler
Beverly Dale
Jacquelyn Hawkins
Gerry Tucker

Rising Star 
Terri Broussard Williams

Bryan/College Station 
Dr. Danny Ballard
Keith Halsell
Kristiana Hamilton
Andrea Liner
Dr. Karan Watson
Nancy Byler
Iva Hamilton
Evy Winn
Kay Wilson

2017 Distinguished Workplace for Women
  • Mosaic – San Angelo
  • Copperas Cove ISD – Killeen/Waco/Temple
  • H-E-B – Austin
  • David Gardner's Jewelers – Bryan/College Station
  • Brownwood Public Library – Brownwood


2016 Honorees

(See individual events above for honorees in earlier years.)

San Angelo 
Judge Marilyn Aboussie
Karen Clark
Carolyn Kirby
Lenora Pool
Teddye Read
Susan Kamas
Mari Meyer
Stephanie O'Banion
Hilary Shine
Mary Kennedy Thompson
Emily Moreland
Jan Ryan
Jane Sibley
Patti Smith
Christine Plonsky
Bryan/College Station 
Sheree Boegner
Margaret Bryant
Linda Gilbert
Jeannie McGuire
Julie Crouch
Sena Leese
Lisa Pack
Joanna Shaw
Alisa Terrell Starbird

2016 Distinguished Workplace for Women
  • Alcohol & Drug Abuse Council for Concho Valley – San Angelo
  • Cultural Activities Center – Killeen/Waco/Temple
  • Wells Fargo – Austin
  • Neutral Posture – Bryan/College Station
  • Boucher, Morgan, & Young – Stephenville