Special Events
side menu icon

Women of Distinction

Invest in Girls. Change the World. 

Girl Scouts of Central Texas’ signature fundraising events, Women of Distinction, honors leaders whose professional accomplishments and community contributions inspire girls to become the next generation of leaders. Proceeds from these events support the Girl Scout Leadership Experience that engages girls in discovering themselves, connecting with others, and taking action to make the world a better place.  

Know of a community leader who exemplifies what it means to be a Girl Scout? Nominate them as a Woman of Distinction, a Rising Star, a Man Enough to be a Girl Scout, or a Workplace of Distinction. See below to find a Women of Distinction event near you.  


Nomination Guidelines for Woman of Distinction:
Please select the nomination form option below. You may include attachments with awards, certificates, accomplishments, newspaper and magazine stories, and letters of recommendation from colleagues, business associates, and friends with the nomination form.

We are unable to accept nominations for:
• currently serving GSCTX Board of Directors or their spouses;
• current employees of GSCTX;
• elected officials or individuals running for elected office.

2020 Nominations - Now Open!
Nominate online here for:
  • Woman of Distinction - for women whose professional accomplishments and community contributions inspire girls to become the next generation of leaders. 
  • Rising Star - for young women leaders (25-40 years of age) who have demonstrated leadership, initiative, dedication, and made significant contributions in business and/or in the community. 
  • Man Enough to be a Girl Scout* - for men who are champions for girls/women and who show through their work and community involvement that they support female leadership and empowerment.         *(only honored at Austin and Waco/Temple/Killeen events)
  • Workplace of Distinction* - for businesses who support girls and women in the community, and who encourage and foster women leadership roles within their workplaces.
    *(only honored at San Angelo and Bryan/College Station events)
Nominate via pdf for: 

If you are completing a PDF nomination form, remember to save the document to your device prior to sending the nomination form. If you have any additional questions or concerns, contact development@gsctx.org

Congratulations to our 2020 honorees!

You can now watch this year's Austin Women of Distinction event

2020 Finalists

*Honorees are bolded

Women of Distinction Rising Star

  • Sylvia Butanda
  • Kristie Gonzales
  • DeAnna Harris-McKoy

Man Enough to be a Girl Scout

  • Gary Farmer
  • Dan Graham
  • Jason Reifsnider

Women of Distinction

  • Ann Beeson
  • Debra Boone
  • Denise Bradley
  • Mela Sarajane Dailey
  • Victoria DeFrancesco Soto
  • Laura Donnelly
  • Maria Luisa Flores
  • Nancy Krenek
  • Lupe Morin
  • Kendra Scott
  • Wendolyn Washington
  • Gloria Williams

Wells Fargo Financial Literacy Champion

  • Theresa Alvarez
Bryan/College Station
2020 Event Date: September 17, 2020
Hilton College Station & Conference Center
801 University Dr E, College Station, TX 77840
Banquet 6:30-8:30 PM | Doors open at 6 PM
2020 Honorees

Women of Distinction

  • Dr. Kathy Banks 
  • Mildred Davis
  • Dr. Eleanor Green
  • Dr. Jennifer Hathaway
  • Sallye Henderson
  • Debbie Holladay
  • Glenda Schneider

Rising Star

  • MaryCruz Morales

Workplace of Distinction

  • Aggieland Outfitters
2020 Event Date: September 1, 2020 
Killeen Civic and Conference Center
3601 South W.S. Young Drive, Killeen, TX, 76542 
6:30-8:30 PM | Doors open at 6 PM

To help slow the spread of COVID-19 in our community, this event has been rescheduled from its original date, April 16, 2020.

2020 Honorees

Women of Distinction

  • Mary Wiley
  • Marsha Hoxworth
  • Tara Stafford
  • Virginia Wuebker

Rising Star

  • Brynn Myers

Man Enough to be a Girl Scout

  • Elliot Germany 
San Angelo
2020 Event Date: August 27, 2020
McNease Convention Center
501 Rio Concho Drive, San Angelo, TX 76903
Doors open at 6:00pm | Banquet 6:30pm-8:30pm

To help slow the spread of COVID-19 in our community, this event has been rescheduled from its original date, March 19, 2020.

2020 Honorees

Women of Distinction

  • Bonnie Lou Campbell
  • Clarisa Darby
  • Billie F. DeWitt
  • Mary Frentz
  • Camille Yale

Workplace of Distinction

  • San Angelo Chamber of Commerce
Past Honorees

2017 Honorees

(See individual events above for honorees in earlier years.)

San Angelo 
Treva Boyd
Irene Meitzen
Carol Santry
Dr. Sharon Kulig
Dr. Leslie Mayrand
Marlene DiLillo
Cynthia Hernandez
Connie Kuehl
Jody Nicholas
Cindy Simerly

Sarah Butler
Beverly Dale
Jacquelyn Hawkins
Gerry Tucker

Rising Star 
Terri Broussard Williams

Bryan/College Station 
Dr. Danny Ballard
Keith Halsell
Kristiana Hamilton
Andrea Liner
Dr. Karan Watson
Nancy Byler
Iva Hamilton
Evy Winn
Kay Wilson

2017 Distinguished Workplace for Women
  • Mosaic – San Angelo
  • Copperas Cove ISD – Killeen/Waco/Temple
  • H-E-B – Austin
  • David Gardner's Jewelers – Bryan/College Station
  • Brownwood Public Library – Brownwood


2016 Honorees

(See individual events above for honorees in earlier years.)

San Angelo 
Judge Marilyn Aboussie
Karen Clark
Carolyn Kirby
Lenora Pool
Teddye Read
Susan Kamas
Mari Meyer
Stephanie O'Banion
Hilary Shine
Mary Kennedy Thompson
Emily Moreland
Jan Ryan
Jane Sibley
Patti Smith
Christine Plonsky
Bryan/College Station 
Sheree Boegner
Margaret Bryant
Linda Gilbert
Jeannie McGuire
Julie Crouch
Sena Leese
Lisa Pack
Joanna Shaw
Alisa Terrell Starbird

2016 Distinguished Workplace for Women
  • Alcohol & Drug Abuse Council for Concho Valley – San Angelo
  • Cultural Activities Center – Killeen/Waco/Temple
  • Wells Fargo – Austin
  • Neutral Posture – Bryan/College Station
  • Boucher, Morgan, & Young – Stephenville

Event Sponsors
Knight Office Solution NXP